Ode to the Blankie.

30 Aug

Rory has a blankie.  In the beginning we didn’t know she would use it, so we had it stashed away in a dresser. Then she started walking and getting into things.  She was able to get into my underwear drawer.  She would fish out the silky kind and carry them around.  Not until guests would come over and find my underwear lying around the house that I decided she needed something else.   Then I remembered the blankie she got as a gift when she was born.  They have been best friends since.  Her favorite thing to do is find a silky tag and rub it on her upper lip while she sucks her fingers.  It’s super cute, and I know soon she will out grow it (well let’s hope).  But for now we are enjoying this time where it’s still socially acceptable to have a blankie.

This is her usual look.

But blankie can also be an awesome super hero cape!

Or a fancy horse’s tail.

Or a bib.

Or maybe a hat?  We might be stretching it a bit…

It’s been a fun ride blankie, but I’m afraid your days are numbered.

2 Responses to “Ode to the Blankie.”

  1. Ellie August 30, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    That’s what you think – I thought Baby Tad would be gone years ago. But he has held on, enough to call me on overnights to let me know that I forgot Baby Tad. I hope that he grows out of it by the teen years – but for now, it reminds me of my baby.

    • amykayparnell August 31, 2010 at 10:21 am #

      Oh man that’s hilarious. Rory can go without blankie sometimes for the night now. So I think she could easily go without. I think I will miss her not having it more than she will.

Leave a Reply

