New Art: World Map

26 Sep

A while back we got some “junk” mail from a wildlife organization.  They included a large geographical map of the United States.  I liked it and thought it would look nice in Rory’s room.  And it did.  But it was made of very thin paper and I used scotch tape to keep it up.  It’s still around, but I know it can’t last long.  So I’ve been looking online for a new poster of a map.  I couldn’t find what I was looking for.  I wanted something more natural and less territorial.  So a light went of in my head that I could attempt to paint one.  I found a new canvas that I’ve been saving and got out the ol’ acrylics.  I used only my hands to paint this.  I wanted it to look child like.  The canvas is 18″ x 24″.

You also get to see the new paint job in Rory’s room.  The white scallops go around the whole room.

The pennant banner I made out of felt.

You can see a glimpse of the other map in the Treasure Map post.

Leave a Reply

