Life Changing

1 Oct

A few months ago I had a friend die.  We hadn’t seen each other in years, but we were friends via facebook.  Her page is still there to visit.  Her death hit me hard.  She was a couple years younger, but I feel she had lived more than me.  When we met over 10 years ago, she probably wasn’t the most popular kid around, but in her final years she was.  She had so many friends and people who loved her.  She left such a mark on so many people.  She is truly missed.

With most deaths, we reflect on our own mortality.  Am I making the most of my time here?  Will I have left a mark?  Am I happy?  If not, why not?

What I learned from the much too soon loss of my friend is that no one knows when their time will be up.  As sad as her passing was, I’m probably the happiest I’ve been in a long time.  Her death brought me to life.  I can’t waste another day not living.

So that is why I started this blog.  I am a quiet person and many people don’t know much about me because of that.   I also want my girls to know me,  should something happen.

Another huge change in my life:  I am a vegetarian.

I had always said I would be a vegetarian if I didn’t love the taste of meat so much.  Well the past few years I haven’t been enjoying meat.  So after Joey returned from a business trip from India, I declared over a date night out, that I was thinking about doing it.  He didn’t believe me, but said he would support me.  So from that moment on, I have been going strong.  I was reluctant to tell anyone because I wasn’t sure how long I would last.  It’s been 2 months.  And I haven’t missed meat once.  I’m loving it!  I have loved every meal I’ve eaten for the past 2 months.  I don’t think I could ever say that about a whole day before.  I also didn’t want to tell anyone because this is my personal choice.  I didn’t want to defend it.  Mostly because I wasn’t sure why I was doing it.  I had no forethought, I just had it in the back of my mind it was something I wanted to try.  Nobody seems supportive of someone changing their life on a whim.  Don’t worry I’m not going to be preaching vegetarianism to anyone just yet.  And I haven’t joined PETA.  But who know what the future holds.  Either way I’m living each day, day by day, and I’m happy.

Edit:  It’s funny that I wrote this on World Vegetarian Day.  Very strange actually, I had no idea.

One Response to “Life Changing”

  1. Phyllis Walls October 13, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    Good luck, Amy! We go “nearly Vegetarian” every time we go on an extended trip. And you are right, it is not as difficult as it may seem at first.

Leave a Reply

