Oh Deer!

5 Nov

I am really digging the woodland decor I’ve been seeing in kids rooms.  I think that’s what will be my inspiration when I start Delilah’s new room.  Her crib has been in our room from the start, but now that Rory has her new room downstairs, it’s time to move Delilah out.  So anyway I made an illustration for her room.

While I was making this I was reminded of a story from my high school days.

While driving the thirty mile dirt road to high school one early morning, I hit a deer.  Totally shocked – I checked to see if there were any damages, to me or the car.  Everything was unharmed.  Well everything but the deer.  I got out of the car to examine it.  It was young.  But not a fawn.  As it lay on the road in front of my car I couldn’t help but tear up a little at the site of this poor animal.  The animal that I killed.  With my beast of a car.  Then I saw it move.   It picks its head up!  I might not have killed it after all!

But it can’t pick its body up.  I look around and there is a car coming.  It was probably 5 miles away.  I wasn’t about to talk to some stranger, I was kinda shy like that.  But I knew if I was to leave, this oncoming car would surly not see this deer and run over it – finishing it off.

So it was up to me to save this deer’s life.  I didn’t want to touch it with all its deer diseases and what not, so I did the only thing I could think of.  I kicked it.  And yelled at it.

The deer just laid its head back on the ground, while I was yelling at it to get up.

I looked around.  In the nearby trees was another deer.  It was watching and waiting for its friend.  But all it saw was me.  It didn’t seem scared of me, just scared for its friend. I apologized to the other deer.

There was nothing much I could do anymore.  So I got in my car and went on to school.  Hoping maybe the other car would come along and know how to handle the situation.

I hope no one saw me hit that deer with my car.  Then get out of the car and yell and kick at it…  That might have looked bad on my part.

One Response to “Oh Deer!”

  1. charla February 13, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

    you are so funny.

Leave a Reply

