Tree Art

24 Nov

This project kind of ended up a disaster.  But I’m going to walk you through it anyway in case you want to try it yourself.

First I drew something.  I like trees, maybe even a little obsessed with them, so that’s what I drew.  I took my sketch then scanned it into the computer.  I used Adobe Illustrator to take it up a notch.  You could just use Photoshop or any other photo editing software and heighten the contrast.

Then I printed it out on a laser printer.  That’s very important, an ink jet will not do.

Then I got some gel gloss and painted over the paper.  Covering it completly.

Let dry completely.  Repeat 4 more times.  You can use a hair dryer to speed up the drying time.

While you are doing those steps, get a canvas and paint it whatever you want.  I painted my tree in a haphazard fashion. You could also just paint random colors, that looks cool too.

After you’ve done the 5 gel gloss steps and it’s completly dry, (that’s where I think I screwed up –  I’m a very impatient person and thought it was good enough to move on) you put it in a shallow pan.  Pour water on top.

Use a toothbrush to scrub off the paper.

When all the paper is off, you let it dry.  For a long time.

I of course, thought it was dry and proceeded.

Next you paint the canvas completely with gel gloss.

Then, put the picture on top and paint it onto the canvas with the gloss.  The stuff is kind of like glue that dries super clear.  When I woke up this morning and checked on it I was surprised it turned out okay.  It still looks ridiculous, but I thought it was a dud last night.  You get the idea of what is supposed to happen.

You can see some of the paper I didn’t get scrubbed off.  And I started tearing at the glue stuff because I didn’t think it was working, so it looks like a loogie.

I think with more drying time this might have turned out better.  You can imagine the possibilities with this kind of art.

Leave a Reply

