Tiny Little Beds

28 Dec

I mentioned earlier I wanted to make the girls’ Christmas gifts this year. For Delilah I made this quilt. For Rory I made a doll bed. Well, actually we made two. “We” being my brother Alan and I. He comes in very handy when making wood projects. He has the tools and the know-how. Also he’s better at numbers and measuring than me. We made the second bed for our niece Lily. The beds fit an American Girl Doll. Which Lily actually has one. So she was the main reason we built these beds.

We were in a work shop and had the heater on (see behind me), and it was still freezing.

The tiny beds together.

Cheesy photo op.  We felt like Santa’s elves. 

I didn’t get a picture of them together finished, and now the other one is two states away in Texas.  The girls’ Mema made the quilts, mattresses and pillows.  They also got matching dolls for Christmas.   

Delilah thinks it’s her bed.  

Bed plans from Ana-White.com

8 Responses to “Tiny Little Beds”

  1. brenda December 28, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    These are just too cute, and what a good uncle to do this for his nieces!! And a very inventive mother!! And grand-mother. A great family project!

    • Amy Parnell December 28, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

      Thanks Brenda, I know we all had fun with this project.

  2. Ellie December 28, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    Love it! Baby doll drags it around the house for her Hannah (the latest name for the american girl – it was Daisy).

    • Amy Parnell December 28, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

      I thought it was Rosie? Rory named her doll Sandra. Also the name of her alter-ego. But that’s another story all together!

      • Ellie January 15, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

        I think you need to blog about the alter-ego. I wanna hear all about it.

      • Amy Parnell January 19, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

        I will one day I’m sure. I need to start writing this stuff down anyway.

  3. Phyllis Walls January 12, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    I’m late with a comment, but that was a wonderful family Christmas project! As usual, well done Amy and Alan!!

    • Mona January 15, 2011 at 11:20 am #

      Denise just gave me this link. It is very neat. Beth is excited Rory is dancing.

Leave a Reply

