Tiny Dancer

13 Jan

We signed Rory up for ballet class at our YMCA.  Her first class was last week.  I have never been around the ballet culture.  So this is all completely foreign to me.  My sister-in-law grew up in dance classes and loves ballet.  This is her territory, not mine.  So when it came time to dress her for her class, I figured she just needed to be comfortable.  I mean, it is just a class for 3 year olds.  So I dressed her like this.

Adorable right?  I thought so, but when it comes to ballet, it is serious business -with strict uniforms (are they called uniforms?).  So after getting a briefing from the instructor on proper attire they started her class.  She really does love it!  And we weren’t the only clueless family.  We went to buy the “gear” and recognized many of the other girls from the same dance class.

She has to wear a pink or black leotard, pink tights and ballet shoes.  Tutus optional.  Her next class is on Saturday, so I’ll get a picture of the whole ensemble then.

Even though I know little about ballet, I have seen girls wear leg warmers.  I’m not sure if they wear them dancing or just to keep their ankles warm when they are en route to dancing.  But anyway I think they are super cute.  So I made some.

I have a bag of old clothes that I have yet to get to the Goodwill.  I remembered I threw an old sweater in there and it would be perfect to repurpose as leg warmers.

Here’s a shot of the “before”.  It was a nice sweater.  But I think I might have shrunk it.  It was very short.  And for some reason it smelled like old books.  It always did.  Even when I bought it.  But it was on sale, so you know.

I cut the arms off.  So now I have a nice short sleeve sweater! Ha Ha!

I’ll think of another project to use up the rest of it.

I put 1/4″ thick elastic at the top and sewed it over.  Then a yarn like elastic at the bottom so it can be tied.

What do you think?

4 Responses to “Tiny Dancer”

  1. Papa says January 14, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    You need a sewing machine, I’ll look for one at a farm sale.

    • Amy Parnell January 14, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

      Does it look that bad with a hand stitch? Ha ha! But seriously I do need a sewing machine. I’ve got so many projects on my list, and hand stitching can only get me so far. One day! I’m thinking in the very near future too! But not from a farm sale. Sorry.

  2. Phyllis Walls January 14, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    I think that’s pretty darn cute!! When Cindy was that age, I took her and the other two little girls I was babysitting at the time to ballet classes. It was such fun for them. When I get home, I’ll try to find the picture from the Spring recital. She had only one year, because it was hard to find classes after we moved to the Milwaukie area, and I had to go back to work. Enjoy this fun time with the girls!

  3. charla February 13, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    you are so stinking clever. no fair.

Leave a Reply

