Super Easy Bench

13 Feb

This weekend “they” were predicting warmer weather, so I had to build something.  So I built a bench.  And I did it all. by. myself.  And it was EASY!

First we went to get some wood.  The pieces were very long so we had them cut up in the store.  To the exact sizes I needed.  I didn’t have to make a single cut.  I know it might be cheating, but it was AWESOME.

So when we arrived home, Joey worked on Delilah taking a nap and Rory helped me.  She handed me nails.  This bench was put together with a hammer and nails, and a little wood glue.  It was fun getting to pound out my stress with a good old hammer.  From start to finish it took me 30 min to build this.  And I did a quick stain in that time.

Today I finished it with some paint.  I painted the body yellow.  The same color as the step stool from last week.  I didn’t paint the top and just left stained wood.  Then distressed it all and finished with a clear top coat.

I think it will be a porch bench.

But for now it’s in our entry way by the front door.

I got the plans from ana-white.com.

5 Responses to “Super Easy Bench”

  1. Auntie Judy February 13, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    Very nice Amy! You should be proud of yourself!

  2. charla February 13, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    Good job Amy. Now we need one for our cement porch. Hint,Hint. Awesome.

  3. Poppy Bill February 13, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Wait… you got the lumber guys to make every cut? That is awesome and I am so jealous. Way to go, letting Rory help and see hwo to make things. Good job, Amy!

    (I am also impressed with your blog and your goals)

    • Amy Parnell February 13, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

      Well, I did have to make one cut on my own and it wasn’t that wobbly either! It’s just hard to make straight cuts with a jig saw.

  4. Phyllis Walls February 13, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    Good job, Amy! You really are quite the furniture maker!!

Leave a Reply

