Volunteering

20 Feb

Number 16 on my 30 before Thirty was to volunteer. Well that opportunity came up this past Friday when Extreme Makeover Home Edition came to town.

My day started off at 4:30am.  I arrived at the volunteer tent at 5:30 and signed all the paperwork. Then we stood around for a couple hours. It was about 8 and they hadn’t given us any thing to work on. All the other volunteers waiting with me left, or went to sit in their cars, or did whoknowswhat. I waited around cause I was raring to help build this house. I eventually got tired of not doing anything, so I ventured over to the build site. It was just the skilled workers putting up the basement walls. I chatted it up with some important looking peeps for about an hour. Then as I overheard the inspector tell the plumbers they had to re-lay all the sewer pipes, I saw it as my opportunity to jump in and help. I helped re-dig the trenches, lay the pipe again and level out the gravel.

Me with the nice ladies who befriended me.

Then the crazy stuff began.

A tiny, cute, fashionably dressed female showed up. She stuck out like a sore thumb. I didn’t know her, but my new friends did. It was Jillian Harris from the Bachelor and Bachelorette shows now a designer on Extreme.

They needed to film a segment for the show of her packing down the gravel in the basement. They needed “blue shirts” (us volunteers) in the background to look busy. So we all jumped at the opportunity to be on national television.

Next came Ty, Paige and Pauly as they were filming some more things. We again were told to look busy as we were going to be in the background of this shoot as well.

After that all wrapped up, I helped mark out some foundation walls, and my day was coming to a close. I figured that was as cool as it was going to get. I’ve heard most of the time when you volunteer for Extreme, you won’t even see the cast. So I was a happy as a pig in poop and ready to go get the girls and head home and take a nap.

But then my new friends came a running. They told me the production crew needed some “blue shirts” to go to the family’s house to film a sending off segment. I was totally down with that. They loaded about 20 of us in vans and sent us off to the family’s rental.

We did the segment where they told the family where they were going and loaded them up and waved goodbye.

Then they wanted to film us “demolishing” the rental.  I’m not going to go into detail on that, you’ll have to watch the show to see how they spin that.

So I got to hang out with the cast for about 3 hours.  It didn’t take long for the “star struck” to wear off.  They were just normal people with interesting jobs.

So in the afternoon I wielded a chainsaw at rooftop, threw a toilet out a door, ran around screaming and laughing, did some horrible acting, and had an awesome time!

The show airs in May and I have no clue what parts they will use for the show.  But hopefully I will show up in some scenes.

Here are some pictures of the afternoon.

That’s me on the roof with the chain saw.  The producer is on the ladder.

Playing with Ty’s bullhorn.  I was pretending to yell at the security guy as he ate his lunch.

Posing with Pauly.  Broken toilet in the background.

This photo is of Jillian with some fake explosives about to blow up the house.  I heard her ask someone to take a picture of her with her phone.  I was the only one in the background.  I thought I could either go hide and not ruin her picture, or photobomb her. I chose the later. I mean how many chances to you get to photobomb a celebrity’s picture? I was going to make a silly face, but thought she might notice and delete it. So I was trying to look causal and go undetected. I figured she would tweet this picture and sure enough, I got home, googled her, found her twitter and there it was!

Well there you have it!  My crazy volunteering experience.

2 Responses to “Volunteering”

  1. Phyllis Walls February 21, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    You got two birds with one stone! You volunteered AND got a shot at being on TV too! Now, let us know the date that you will “star in “………

  2. Aubrey February 21, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    You are the bomb, Amy!! How cool is this!! I can’t wait to watch for you when the show airs! Keep me updated 🙂

Leave a Reply

