Pallet Bench

13 Mar

Do you think I have a thing for benches?

Yes, yes I might…

Anyways, this bench started out as this.

I’ve been trying to think of a way to use a pallet and reinvent it to avoid the landfill.  I’ve seen people do some cool stuff with them around the blogosphere – beds, tables, box planters, sheds, etc.  I didn’t really do anything super hard.  I just cut it in half with a jigsaw and used the leftover pieces for legs.

Most of winter it’s spent it’s days like this.  As a plant stand on the back patio.

I have plans to build a daybed for the front porch, but I figured this will do for the time being.

I sewed up a cusion to go on top.  More of those painter drop cloths.  And some buttons!

It will do quite nicely for now.

Here’s the porch all together.

Rory enjoying it on this warm afternoon.

And there you have it!  My pallet turned bench.

How about you guys?  Have you ever reused an old pallet for something other than its intended purpose?  Maybe you just have an idea?  I’d love to hear ’em!

One Response to “Pallet Bench”

  1. charla March 14, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    Your project is so cool and your Rory is so sweet. Yes, Bill and I filled a 50′ long x 2-3′ wide area with pallets when we had Bob because he had run such a big muddy rut in the back yard. We couldn’t deal with the mud, so we (Bill)covered them in pallets-we both found random pallets to use. Now they are falling apart due to Buster Brown and Daisy Mae and we need new cheap ideas.

Leave a Reply

