New Job

25 Mar

My day to day life has been a little different these days.  One month ago I was laid off from my part time graphic design job.   It was on my 5 year aniversary working there.  They didn’t know that.  They barely even knew my name…

To give you a little background, my wonderful boss for the past 4.5 years quit last August.  And I had been pretty much unmanaged (not unmanageable, lol) for the last 6 months.  I worked in the basement to make matters worse.  Oh and my one other co-worker quit before my boss did.  So it was just loley ol’ me all day long.  I started to feel like that guy in Office Space that worked in the basement that everyone forgot.  I think they had fired him but forgot to tell him and by some glitch he continued to get a paycheck.  Yea, that’s what I felt like.  I had come close to quiting 4 months ago, but how could I quit a job that payed so well and I didn’t have to deal with ANYONE?  Well over time an awesome situation like that will start to get to you.  I felt lonely when I was at work and I got absolutely no positive feedback for any of my work.  My old boss was awesome about that.  So them letting me go was a huge weight off my shoulders.  I didn’t have to quit.  I am horrible at quiting things.

So my new job you ask?  I am now a Stay at Home Mom!

I used to think I could never stay at home.  I mean, why would I go to college and rack up so much student loan debt just so I could stay at home?  But I realized that the girls won’t be this young forever, eventually they will be in school.  And I’m not sure if I will wait for them to go to school to go back to work, but I’m not going to worry about finding a job either.   For now I’m just enjoying everyday with them.

Plus summer time is coming and who wants to work during the summer?

Not this gal.

The girls eating icecream on the porch on a warm March day.
Outfits by their Mema.


2 Responses to “New Job”

  1. Phyllis Walls March 25, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    Amy, the pictures are too cute!! You will enjoy your new full time job and the next few years will go by so quickly. You’ll be forever glad that you have the time with the girls. And that next job will come, once the girls are established in school (college??) Enjoy your Spring and Summer, it looks like you are getting some sunshine. Yea! We need some too.

  2. charla March 25, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    Amy-great way to feel about things right now. Those 2 girls are the most important things in your life right now(besides your Joey) of course. The picture is so precious. We just love them to pieces, and your mom is such a good seamstress. Just keep having fun.

Leave a Reply

