Farming in a Jar

14 May

This past weekend I went back to my parent’s farm.  I was there for 4 days.  My mom has been talking about growing sprouts in a jar.  So when I first arrived there, she started a batch.  And on the last day we ate those sprouts.  And I was hooked on becoming a sprout farmer.  Well at least farming them in a jar.

It is super easy and if you like sprouts, you should be growing your own as well.

First off, the benefits of eating sprouts:

  • Powerful source of antioxidants in the form of vitamins, minerals and enzymes.
  • Good source of essential fatty acids.
  • Good source of protein.

And if you want to become a sprout grower too, here’s what you gotta do!

They sell these kits in heath food stores, jars just like this but with plastic lids.  My momma made me mine. 🙂  Thanks mom!

She used a screen for the top inside a canning lid thingy-ma-bob.  I believe that is the technical term.  I’ve heard people use cheesecloth too.

Here’s what my set up looks like.

First off, put 2 tablespoons of sprouting seeds in the jar.  You can also get these at any health food store.  My mom shared some she had bought online.

Close up of the lid.  Ventilation is key in sprouting!

And then you soak those puppies for 8-12 hours.  Overnight is a good time-frame.

Drain the water and then let ‘er sit.  I’m unclear about lighting.  It might depend on the type of seed.  Mung beans require dark.  These alfalfa seeds grew perfectly fine out on the counter.  My kitchen doesn’t get much sun though.  But my mom set hers in her window over her sink and they tasted mighty fine.

After that rinse the seeds out 2 times a day.  Just fill the jar with water, then pour it out the lid holes.  I did it morning and night.

Here’s day two.  Starting to see some action in there!

And day 4!  The jar is filled with sprouty goodness.

Rinse off the sprouts to get all the seed hulls off.  I put them in a bowl and filled it with water and the seed hulls rose to the top.  Or put them in a strainer.

Dry them off.  I set them on a paper towel on top of one of those breathable pizza pans.

Ahh my beautiful sprouts!  I ate them for lunch on top of leafy greens and spinach.  Now I have some mung beans soaking.  Yumm!

One Response to “Farming in a Jar”

  1. bryanmallard@ymail.com March 29, 2014 at 6:24 pm #

    Amy,your explanation was THE BOMB! the pics are GREAT! thank you so much! i am going to plant some for sandwiches. yummy! be blessed, Mrs. Bryan

Leave a Reply

