Hammock Arbor

23 May

This weekend was our Wood Working Workshop.  We did it a little different this time.  Instead of us all building the same thing, we decided to build one big thing.  Each time we will build a big thing for each other.  So this time the plan was to build a hammock arbor in our backyard.

We set the posts the day before the workshop.

The boys setting the posts in some concrete while the girls watched from the ladder.

By the time we got started, it was super simple.  I designed a simple arbor and cut out some details on the ends.  I was able to do a majority of it all on my own.  I just needed some extras hands (and muscle) with lifting the heavy wood over head.

Here’s the top part of the arbor all finished.

I wanted to do a double person fabric hammock, but after we got it home and tried in on, it was way too long. And the wind whipped it around and around and was an accident waiting to happen.    So I went back to the store and bought a single person rope hammock and saved $40.

Aubrey giving it a try.

So since this project was so fast and mostly just a one person job, everyone else was able to build their own projects that they had been itching to build.  I’ll make a whole ‘nother post for that tomorrow.

I had planned on painting the arbor white, but last minute decided to go with dark red stain.  And I’m soo glad I did.  The color is gorgeous!

And there you have it.  Tune in tomorrow for the workshop post!

8 Responses to “Hammock Arbor”

  1. Auntie Judty May 23, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    Hi Amy; enjoyed seeing this quick built arbor. I might try this in our back yard. I have a porch swing on our upper deck that does not get used. I’d love to move it to the yard! Thanks for the inspiration! Love it red!

  2. Phyllis Walls May 23, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    Another job well done!! And will there be “discussions” as to who gets to use the hammock?

  3. charla May 23, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    Good job Amy. I am always impressed with your projects. I’m betting Joey will really be wanting to use that great hammock. Rory told us that you have to get in the middle of it, or you roll out. I can’t believe she is 3, she is so mature. And I love the way the girls helped. You are setting such a good example for them.

  4. brenda May 23, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    another good one!!

  5. CINDY CINDY June 6, 2013 at 12:44 am #

    WOW. I WANT THE SAME GREAT LOOK IN MY BACK YARD. PLEASE MAKE A LIST OF WHAT YOU PURCHASED SO i KNOW WHAT TO BUY. 2- 6×6 PRESSURE TREATED POST WHAT KIND OF WOOD REDWOOD CEDAR… CROOS BEAMS, RAFTERS, SLATS… WHATS THE DISTANCE BETWEEN THE POSTS AND HOW HIGH OFF THE GROUND IS THE HAMMOCK… I’VE BEEN SITTING ON THIS FOR ONE YEAR. I WANT TO TRY TO GET THE POST IN WITH MY SON AND ME MYSELF AND I. THANK YOU. YOU DID AN AWESOME JOB. IT LOOKS FAB.

    • Summer June 4, 2014 at 5:59 pm #

      Is there a way to get the plans for this!?!? I would love to put it in my backyard!

      • Amy Parnell June 4, 2014 at 8:37 pm #

        No plans. Just 4×4 poles set in concrete. Then 2×6 lengthwise on top with 2x2s. I used treated lumber and stained it. 3 years later it still looks great. It’s pretty simple and easy to make however you want.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 15 Cool DIY Hammock Ideas | Guide Patterns - March 19, 2015

    […] Hammock Arbor […]

Leave a Reply

