Kid’s Sling Chair

25 May

Pottery barn sells these sling chairs for around $50.  So when ana-white.com came up with the knock-off plans I was pretty dang excited.

The wood itself cost me about $3. Hardware $1.  The fabric I splurged a little on because it was so dang cute at $10.  And I used stain I already had on hand.  So these chairs cost me around $14 each.  And they took about 2 hours to make, and that was building them with two little girls helping out.

The sling part is double sided so you can change the look.  The fabric is held on with dowels that easily slip out to take the fabric off.

And they fold up nicely for storage.
This was totally easy project and I’ll probably be making more of these.  They would make great gifts.

Detailed plans found here.

12 Responses to “Kid’s Sling Chair”

  1. Phyllis Walls May 25, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    Those are really cute, Amy. And yes, they would make great gifts!

  2. charla May 25, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    Soooo cute. What a great idea.

  3. Mel May 25, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    How darling with the Amy trademark!

  4. Ana White May 25, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    so C. U. T. E. !!!!

    Thank you thank you for making my day! These are adorable! I love the natural wood, and that smile!

  5. tinystitches May 26, 2011 at 1:08 am #

    Great job! The fabric choice is perfect. I’m adding this project to our growing Ana list.

  6. Andrea Bartels May 26, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    cute!!

  7. ferbit May 26, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    OMG, those turned out adorable!!! Great job! LOVE the fabric!!!

  8. Sarah May 26, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    Very cute! Where did you find the fabric?

    • Amy Parnell May 26, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

      I got the fabric at Joann’s. It’s upholstery fabric, not outdoor fabric. I figure I just won’t leave them outside all the time.

  9. Theresa May 26, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    So cute !!! and the chairs are great too. Thank you for sharing.

  10. Tracy May 28, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    These turned out really cute!!

  11. Sarah August 16, 2012 at 7:42 am #

    I love these and really want to make some 🙂 (I found your blog via a few others from pinterest…love it!)

Leave a Reply

