I Smocked!

14 Jul

Rory had a sleep over with her cousin last night and she stayed at their house most of the day.  So Delilah and I headed to the fabric store to see what we could find to do with all this free time.

I love rummaging through the remnants rack and finding treasures.  I found a few things and headed home.  I looked through all my patterns and picked one to go with my new fabric.  As I laid the pattern out, it didn’t look so fun anymore.  So I just made up my own design.  I wanted to try smocking so I just practiced a little and then went all in.  It was super hard and I didn’t figure I would make it through.  I was talking to my mother on the phone at the time and she thought I was a little crazy to even be trying it.  A seasoned sewing pro like herself hasn’t even went there.  So I knew it would be hard, but I was determined to figure it out.

And I did.  But it wasn’t purdy.  But I don’t care, I smocked.  And I will smock again.

And if you are like my husband and had no clue what smocking was, it’s the stitching over the bunching of the fabric towards the top of the dress.

3 Responses to “I Smocked!”

  1. Phyllis Walls July 14, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    Good job, and doing it without a pattern! I’ll have to look through my old sewing stuff and see if I still have instructions. We used to make round “decorator” pillows….by the dozen! to sell at bazaars. Will you be in Salina tomorrow night?

  2. Mel July 14, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    She wears her smock well. So cute. Is there anything you can’t do? You go girl!!!!

  3. charla July 14, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    Amy, I am shocked that you smocked. Bill and I may never get over this. Your little Delilah is the cutest thing going except for that Aurora and Ella. She and Roar both have the most beautiful blue eyes ever. I love the outfit and you have such a precious model.

Leave a Reply

