Shirr Maddness

22 Jul

I shirred.  And it was amazing.  But it took me awhile to get to the amazing part.

I read many tutorials online before deciding it was something I was ready for.  I got some elastic thread and a scrap piece of fabric and started practicing.  It wasn’t working like they said it would.  I tried every combination of thread tension and stitch length I could and it never worked.  I went back to the internet (what did people do before the internet?) and started searching for reasons it wasn’t working.  Everyone had different things to try to get it to work, but nothing new.  I did see some people say that Brothers (my sewing machine brand) didn’t shirr.

I thought this would be the end of my shirring adventures.  But then I ran across a video tutorial on how to take apart the machine and tighten a screw, then self feed the elastic.  Yeah I would have never figured that one out on my own.  Well I tried that and it worked!!  So here’s the dress I made for Rory.

See the bunched up fabric?  That part is stretchy due to the elastic thread.  Very similar to the smocking I did last week.  You might notice it’s also my go-to design.  There’s not a lot of ways to mess this design up.

Also, notice Rory’s straight hair?

What about you guys, have you ever tried shirring?  Isn’t it the funnest?

5 Responses to “Shirr Maddness”

  1. Mel July 22, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    Well I learned something new today. I’ve seen that stitching before but didn’t know the name. Very good job! The dress looks nice and cool in the summer heat.

  2. charla July 22, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    Amy, you shirr did a good job on this outfit. It is so cute, and once again, your model is beautiful. I admire all the creative things you do. You have a lot more patience than I do. Most of the time when I hit a roadblock in a situation like you had, I think, well, guess I don’t really need to do that. Then it’s back to reading my book.

  3. Phyllis Walls July 22, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    Hi Amy,
    Well, you did it again! Very cute. and how did you straighten the hair???

  4. Aunt Judy July 22, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    I’m always impressed with your creations! Jeff said the TV is not on at your house; this gives you and the family time to be creative. Beautiful dress on a beautiful girl.

  5. Aubrey July 25, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    So cute 🙂 I LOVE Rory’s hair! She looks so grown up!

Leave a Reply

