Dog Bed

17 Aug

I built Rudy a bed.  Technically this project wasn’t “free” because the items were purchased at one point or another, but I can say I didn’t spend any money to make this bed.  The wood- leftover scraps from previous projects, the stain- leftovers from our house being built, bedding- remnants bought with no idea what to do with, and bed filling- Joey’s old blanket from his bachelor days (sorry Joey! but it can be washed!)

I designed this in my head.  I didn’t even use a ruler, just eyeballed it.  That’s how I roll.  The path of least measuring.  I call this a mission style doggy-daybed.

Even though the wood was scraps, if you were to purchase this amount of wood it would be about $3-5 worth.

The bottom was scrap plywood that I used as a drop “cloth” while painting.  You won’t see it anyway, so who cares.  It would look nicer stained though…

For the mattress I sewed a big pillowcase to size.  Then rolled up an old blanket and stuffed it inside.  I used duvet clips on the inside so I can take it out and wash it.  It’s not ideal, but I work with what I got.

Isn’t that fabric gorgeous?  It’s woven, so I hope the dog is gentle with it.  A girl can dream.

It’s plenty big for our small-medium sized dog.  This picture makes it look like he’s cramming in there, but he’s just trying to look cool.

This one shows the scale a little better.

What do you think?  Not bad for free right?

2 Responses to “Dog Bed”

  1. charla August 17, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    that is too cute Amy-you are so creative. I know Rudy just loves it. Where are you going to keep it most of the time?

  2. Sarah K August 31, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    What a great bed!! Rudy is completely adorable!

Leave a Reply

