Peddling Pumpkins

25 Sep

Last year, around this time, my parents started to reap the bounty from their garden.  They brought us more watermelon and musk melons than we knew what to do with.  I told them for next year they need to grow some pumpkins so I could use them as decoration.  Pumpkins at the store can be pricey, and pumpkin patches are even more so.  Then I got the idea that Rory could set up her own pumpkin stand.  She has been looking forward to it all year long.  She knew her Papa and Mema were growing her pumpkins to sell.

Well now it’s finally pumpkin season!  They visited this weekend and brought a load with them.  They even brought an old wagon from their farm.

As soon as she got home from school she got to work washing the dirt off of them, prepping them for sale.

Then loaded them up in the wagon.

She walked door to door with that wagon yelling “Pumpkins, pumpkins for sale!”  She went to the doors by herself and introduced herself (most neighbors already knew her) then told her what she was doing and how much she was selling them for ($2).

Selling a pumpkin to her best friend.

Getting to ride home.

She sold three pumpkins on Friday evening, and eight on Saturday evening.  She even started cutting people deals on buying in bulk.

Rory had so much fun with this entrepreneurial experience and I think she’s learned a lot from it.  I am so proud of her.  She gets to keep all the money she made and she can spend it however she wants.

In the future it would be neat if she could some how grow her own produce to sell.  We have a few apple trees that one day might start producing, but they are still young trees.  When we planted those apple trees I envisioned our kids harvesting them and selling them.

We will see how it all goes, but I think this is just the beginning.

3 Responses to “Peddling Pumpkins”

  1. Phyllis Walls September 25, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    That was a good project (for all involved!!) and really cute pictures. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Aunt Judy September 25, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Now that’s what I call FARM FRESH! Good job to the growers, the parents and most of all the little entrepreneurial herself! Personally, I’m having a hard time believing it is pumpkin time again already! 😉

  3. charla September 26, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    What a wonderful idea. She is such a cute little pumpkin salesgirl. I love her dress. I was going to get the girls a pumpkin, but I can see that they need to sell one to me. My porch sure needs some.

Leave a Reply

