Vintage Chair Makeover

16 Oct

A couple weeks ago I found this vintage chair at the thrift store.  It’s comfortable and has an interesting looking style, but the upholster job on it was kinda ugly.

It was a orange-ish brown vinyl.

So I stripped it down.  This was definitely the hardest part of the whole project.  Tons of nails and staples.  And stink.  This thing is O.L.D.  And by that, I mean old.

I let it air out outside for a while before reupholstering it.

Then came time to upholstery it.  This part went so fast.  And it was so much fun.

I even put the little brass nails on the backside.  That part was a little frustrating.  I had about a 50% success rate on those.  It didn’t help that I had two kids and a dog all up in my stuff.

And there she is.  I’m not sure if I’m loving the fabric just yet.  I really suck at picking out fabric.  It’s so intimidating looking at all the bolts in the store.  I always go in wanting something geometric and modern then end up buying something retro and floral. Something is seriously wrong with me.  At least it seems to fit the style of the chair.

Also, this was number 11 on my 30 before Thirty list.  So I get to cross that off.  I’ve got less than a year to finish off my list.   I’ve got to get crackin’!

6 Responses to “Vintage Chair Makeover”

  1. Aunt Judy October 16, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    Amy, I’m liking the chair a lot! I like the style of the arms particularly. I’m thinking it is a flashback from the ’70’s! I actually wallpapered my kitchen ceiling in a pattern very similar this the print you chose for this chair. It was awesome and no one else had a wallpapered ceiling, let along in a busy floral print!

  2. Aubrey October 17, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    I LOVE it! I have been wanting to find a good chair like that to reupholster. Let me know if you see another gem like that while you are out thrifting again! Speaking of thrift stores…we need schedule our next breakfast outing soon!

    • Amy Parnell October 17, 2011 at 9:57 am #

      There were actually 2 more just like this one. I was thinking I’ve got to know someone who would like one of these chairs too. I’ll keep my eye open for more! Maybe this coming weekend we can have a girls thrifting and breakfast outing?

  3. Aunt Mel October 17, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    Really like the style of the chair. Not sure it was 70’s Judy. I was thinking 60’s. Doesn’t matter, looks great and your detail work looks so professional. Can’t wait to see the next project mom, kids and dog pick out!

  4. charla October 24, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    Amy, this is so cool. I love that you are showcased in the other blog. You know, Bill and I are wrinkly and old, so maybe you could cover us up too. I hope we don’t stink too. Anyway, awesome job. I showed your blog to a couple of friends while I was out of town. They were very impressed. Good job.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Comfy Chair Series | Fabric Warehouse Direct Blog - October 24, 2011

    […] a cute makeover from the blog Amy’s Show and Tell – the retro inspired fabric is perfect for the shape of this chair! This fabric is fun and […]

Leave a Reply

