Toddler Bed Makeover

5 Jan

When we were expecting Delilah, Joey and I built an upholstered toddler bed for Rory. [You can read that post here.]

Now Delilah is about the same age as Rory when we moved her to her toddler bed.  We had planned to use the same bed.  But you know me, that’s just not much fun.  I wanted to build a new toddler bed, but Joey convinced me that was kinda silly when we had a perfectly good one.  But I wasn’t really diggin the old bed anymore.  The fabric made it impossible to use anything but a solid blanket.  So I decided to reupholster it, but also make some other changes.  I didn’t like the way it looked like we had just thrown a mattress on the floor.  It needed some legs.  A few 2×2 legs did the trick.  And then I saw this on Pinterest that had me wanting to add a headboard.

I just used a piece of plywood and cut it to the shape I wanted with a jig saw.  I’m kicking myself right now for not getting a picture of that.

The next step was covering it with batting.

Then I covered it with gray fabric.  I should have used upholstery fabric, but that would have almost quadrupled the cost. And this was supposed to be a cheap update.

And here is the finished bed.

The toddler bedding is from Target.

Delilah loves her new bed.  And I love that it’s all hers, not Rory’s old bed.  I think it’s important since she get so many hand-me-downs that some things are meant just for her.

 

Now to read some stories.

2 Responses to “Toddler Bed Makeover”

  1. charla January 5, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    How cute-what a good job you did. Can you still use the quilt that Alyce made for her?-(the big one, not the small one)-I know Delilah loves her new bed. It is fun to have your own stuff, not just hand-me-downs.

  2. bren4u January 6, 2012 at 7:31 am #

    So cute! You have the best ideas!

Leave a Reply

