Building a Dollhouse

21 Jan

I wanted to build Rory a house for her Barbies for Christmas this year.  It didn’t happen. I had way too many projects going on, and Christmas presents were getting a little out of control.

But this past week, my friend Mindy from Marigold Road contacted me and asked if I knew how much it would cost to make this dollhouse.

This was the exact house I was planning to make Rory. I figured now was as good a time as any to get it built.  Also that way I could see how much it would cost.  I headed off to the lumber yard.  I spent around $25 in lumber, but I also used some lumber I already had.

I didn’t want to make the exact dollhouse.  For one it was huge!  And I didn’t want one that big, but also, I wanted it sized for Barbies.  In the end it probably is almost as big, but only 2 floors instead of 3.  I didn’t  follow the plans, I was going off of what materials I had and what suited our needs in a dollhouse.  It’s strange how close they look though.

Moving on to the building, here is the beginning of the frame.

Framed out.

Putting in the floors, one with a stair hole cut out.

And now the walls.

And finally the roof.

I painted the walls pink, yellow, blue and green.   I’m not sure if I’m going to paint the roof.  I kind of like it left as is.

I haven’t done much decorating yet.  I’m trying to get Rory to help as much as she can.  Rory already had a bathroom and kitchen set.  I got them at thrift store for like 75 cents each.

I did make a fireplace and some art, though.

Plans for the original doll house found at Ana-White.com

3 Responses to “Building a Dollhouse”

  1. charla January 21, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    How cute is this? I bet the girls absolutely love it. They are learning a lot from you I bet. Good job. Amy.

  2. Stephanie Brooks January 23, 2012 at 7:59 am #

    I love how yours turned out! I’m too scared to deviate from plans yet so I made the ana white version and it is huge!! I used some scrap wood to make some furniture… I love your fireplace! So cute:-)

    • Amy Parnell January 24, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

      Thank you! I’m not one for following directions. 😉 I love seeing how everyone else builds and decorates their Ana White dollhouse!

Leave a Reply

