Hanging Herb Shelf

2 Feb

Whilst piddling around on the web the other day, I found a site in the UK that sold the cutest garden decor.

This hanging herb shelf caught my eye.

image via gardentrading.co.uk

I said to myself, “self you could totally knock that off!”

And so I did.

I’ll walk you through it in case you feel like building one too.

First step- a trip to the lumber yard.  It cost about $5-$8 depending.

Buy list: 3- 1×2’s, 1- 2×2, 1- cedar fence panel.

Cut all the pieces to size.  I didn’t follow the size of the one above.  It seemed a little large for my liking.

2- 1 x2’s @ 34″

12-1 x 2’s @ 19″

I used 2 1/2″ screws.

Assemble the back piece like-a-dis.  The dimensions are 34″ tall by 22″ wide.  The middle 1×2’s are spaced 1 1/2″ apart.  I just used the width of a 1×2 as a spacer.

Shown here laying sideways.

Assemble the shelf like so.  I used a cedar picket and cut it to 20 1/2″ long.  The dimensions of the shelf are 22″ x 8 1/4″.

Just measure as you build to know the exact measurements you need.  

Attach shelves to back.

Next are the supports.  Cut your 2×2 @ 7 1/2″ (short end to short end) at a 45 degree angle on both ends, not parallel.  If you can find a good way to attach it with screws, go for it, I could not, so I used wood glue.  It worked out really nice and they are very strong.  Here it is all finished, stained and mounted.

I mounted it right by the front door so guests can have something to look at while I frantically clean my house before opening the door to them.  Just kidding, that NEVER happens!   😉

6 Responses to “Hanging Herb Shelf”

  1. Phyllis February 2, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    Another job well done, Amy!

  2. charla February 2, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    so cute. And when you are cooking, you can just run out your front door, grab an herb and toss it into the pot of soup or stew or whatever. Very clever.

  3. Aubrey February 4, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    And, I said to myself “Self, that Amy is crazy!” lol. And, a mighty fine woodworker too. Great job on this my friend. This deserves another Martini night!

  4. Brooke February 10, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    that is SO CUTE!! and just so you know…if you ever see me knocking on your door, you don’t need to clean. 🙂

  5. Stephanie February 21, 2012 at 7:53 am #

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

