Laundry Room Update

21 Mar

It’s spring break around here this week.  My parents were so wonderful as to take BOTH the girls for the week.  After the initial shock of being completely without children wore off, I got to work.  I’ve been running all around town and around this house trying to get things and projects done that having children with me are 100 times harder to do.

One of the biggest projects I’ve tackled this week is the laundry room.  I bought a gallon of paint during the summer and put some paint on the laundry room walls to see if I liked it.  I did like the color, but painting it was a total nightmare.  The paint was super runny and every brush stoke, half of it seemed to end up on the floor.  Mix some curious little girls into it (the situation, not the paint) and it was impossible to get done.  So I left that room not even half done for 6 months.  I just liked to keep the door closed so I didn’t have to look at my failed project.  I am a finisher, I can’t stand to leave anything half done, so this room was killing me.

Well now that I had all the time in the world, I taped off all the baseboards and cabinets and lined the floor with newspaper.  And I just got it done.  It took me 3 days of painting too.

Here’s the before.  Taken 5 years ago. Hence the old washer.  It was a matching set…

And the after.

I painted the art of laundry hanging out on a line.  I’ve been wanting laundry themed art in there for awhile.  Art is another project that is way less stressful without children.

And that’s a little of what I’ve been doing on my spring break.  I thought I was going to be doing yard work, but it’s been raining on and off the last 3 days.

Anyone else have any spring break projects they are tackling this week?

3 Responses to “Laundry Room Update”

  1. Charla March 21, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    Amy-what a clever idea -the laundry art I mean. It is darling. I love the paint you have put on the walls also. I heard from Joey that the girls are feeding the cows a lot at the farm, and also making donuts-for themselves I presume. I know they have to be having a ball with mema and papa and the cows,chickens,horse, etc. I’m also glad you are getting some project time.

  2. Aunt Phyllis March 21, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    I like it, art work and all!

  3. Beverly March 21, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

    Very nice. I find painting a huge chore and can do it best when the kidlets are at camp or something. Children + paint = frazzled mom and half done rooms. Congratulations. like your laundry picture, too.

Leave a Reply

