Side Table

27 Apr

About a month ago I got a Kreg Jig.  I’ve been wanting one for a very long time and was finally able to get one.  If you are unfamiliar with a Kreg Jig, it’s basically a pocket hole jig.  Kreg is just the name brand.

So when I got it, I excitedly went to the garage and tried it out.  And it was very intimidating.  It required math.  I’m horrible at math.  I gave it a few tries, and I just couldn’t figure it out.  I was disappointed.  Mostly in myself.  I thought I would just “get it”.  So when I didn’t, I gave it a rest.  Like a month rest.  Then last week, I decided to give it another go.  And this time, instead of trying to do the math to figure it out, I just used my own common sense.  And this time I got it!

So I needed to build something to try it out.  I needed a new side table in the living room so I went online to find something I liked.

This is the Benchwright Reclaimed Wood side table from Pottery Barn.  It retails for $449, on sale right now for $349.  Seriously, who has that kind of money to spend on a side table?

I looked to see if there were already plans for this on Ana-White.com.  And there weren’t.  So I figured I would just make it up as I went.

I didn’t know if any one part would work, so I didn’t take pictures of the steps.  I just needed to see if it would come together.  There were a lot of angles and beveling to do.  So if I told you how I did it, it wouldn’t make any sense.

Here’s a top view.  See how weird it looks?  I have no idea what I was thinking.  But you never see this part anyway, so it’s not really a problem.

Now for the table top.  I could have just made a square top and it would have been easy.  But I wanted round.  So that was another thing to figure out.

I laid the boards out then rigged up a circle maker.  A scrap board with a screw half way through.  Then I drilled a hole the distance of the radius.  Then I stuck a pen in the hole and drew my big circle.  From there I knew where I need to put my pocket holes.

After drilling all the pocket holes, I assembled the large square top.  And then jig sawed out the circle.

After some sanding down it was perfect.

Then I attached it to the base with some more pocket holes.  Here’s the view of how it all came together -pocket hole style.  There are double pocket holes because I forgot to reset my jig’s thing-a-ma-jig height.  Like I said, it’s kinda complicated.

And here she is all put together.

The paint color is called “Safari Green” by Glidden.

And what’s a post without a picture of a kid?

So here’s a run down on supplies: 1 – 2X2, 2 – 1x4s, 1-1×2.

About $5 in lumber, $2 in paint.  That’s a savings of $342!  That’s not even counting shipping.

Sure, it’s not exactly the same as Pottery Barn’s but I’m willing to be okay with it.

14 Responses to “Side Table”

  1. Aub April 27, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    I gotta get me one of those Kreg Jig’s! I can’t believe you just made all that up in your head. Well…I can…but it’s still crazy!

  2. Aunt Phyllis April 27, 2012 at 11:46 am #

    Another job well done, Amy! How long did it take to do all that (not counting the month it took to get going)?

    • Amy Parnell April 27, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

      about 2 hours building, then painting another hour. it was really fast.

  3. Charla April 27, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    Way to go Amy-I am continually in awe of the stuff you do. I am mathmatically impaired-and maybe spelling impaired too. Anyway-it looks fabulous! I love the picture of Miss Aurora posing in the chair too. Good job as usual.

  4. Mindi Carwin May 1, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

    I saw your comment on Ana’s Blog. I am super impressed you figured this out on your own! Great job, and I love the color!

  5. theresa May 1, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

    I love the table. Your girls are so sweet.

  6. Sarah May 8, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

    This is amazing!!! Love the color and it looks so good! I need to make one.

  7. Chris April 10, 2013 at 9:19 am #

    You should be so proud of that table! It is amazing. You could actually sell them to shops along the beaches of the Carolina’s. They would be a hit!

  8. Becki January 27, 2014 at 2:33 pm #

    I like this way better than the original Pottery Barn one!

  9. Rhonda March 27, 2016 at 4:21 am #

    I fell in love with my Kreg the day I purchased it. Great job on that table. Have fun!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Side Table | Sweet N Sour Deals - May 2, 2013

    […] over to Amy’s show & tell to check out how you can make this easy side […]

  2. DIY End Tables That Look Stylish and Unique - July 28, 2015

    […] Amy’s Show and Tell gives us an easy tutorial on how to create a side table with a cottage-esque edge. We love it’s charm and quaintness. […]

Leave a Reply

