Grandparents Garden Benches

7 May

It took me 6 months before I could blog about this project.  I know it’s May, but who wants to talk about Christmas presents!?

This past Christmas I made my parents and Joey’s parents benches.  On Christmas day, Joey and I borrowed his parent’s van to deliver theirs.  But for my parents, who live 4 hours away it took much longer to deliver theirs.  They didn’t get their Christmas gift until this weekend.  Which was also my Dad’s birthday.  The reason it took so long to deliver my parents’ was because we don’t get out to their farm much in the winter.  And we don’t have a pick-up.  But my brother does, but he sometimes flies his plane out there.  So it took some time before they got it.

Here’s one of the benches all built, but unfinished.  I painted my in-law’s bench white, and my parent’s I stained.

Joey’s parents, Bill and Charla. I got very lucky in the in-law department.

My awesome parents, Jeff and Denise.

Garden Bench Plans from Lady Goats, via Ana-White.com


					
6 Responses to “Grandparents Garden Benches”

  1. Phyllis Walls May 7, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    WOW! Your projects are pretty amazing, Amy. Good job!

  2. Charla May 7, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    Amy, you did so good. We love our bench and I know your parents love theirs. Happy BD to Jeff by the way. We appreciate you Amy.

  3. Kristin Parks Petty February 14, 2015 at 10:04 am #

    hi Amy! Absolutely love the bench… My husband is going to make me one!!!! Do you have a list of materials needed for the project by chance?

    • Amy Parnell February 14, 2015 at 3:55 pm #

      Awesome! I got the plans from ana-white.com. You can search her site for bench plans. I’ll try to find the link and post it for you.

  4. Scott February 14, 2015 at 3:52 pm #

    Just wondering for the seat of the bench did you use 2X4’s? also what kind of wood did you use (i.e. pine, cedar, poplar?)

    • Amy Parnell February 14, 2015 at 3:59 pm #

      Hey Scott, i used 2×4’s for a majority of the project. I think pine. But cedar would be nicer. These benches haven’t aged well out in the elements. So use the best you can for outdoor use. I got the plans from ana-white.com just search “benches” for plans.

Leave a Reply

