Vintage Camper

25 May

Last week I became a co-owner of a mid-60’s Scout camper.  My brother and I purchased this cute little camper from my good friend, Aubrey.

Five years ago, when I met Aubrey and learned about her awesome camper, I was drooling thinking of its adorableness potential.  I never would have imagined I would actually get the chance to be able to make it over.

I know absolutely nothing about campers.  So I’m glad I have my brother, who is mechanically inclined, to help out.  It’s going to need some help with the electricity, water tank and wheels.  That stuff is way over my head.  But I can do the inside renovation.  There is some water damage, and I used to think I would be way out of my element, but the more I look at it, I think I could actually tackle it.

Here are the benches, that double as beds.  The tops (which were removed already when I took this picture) slide together to make a bigger bed.  The table, also removed at this point, folds down for a eating area.

The little storage closet with pantry.  

It’s going to be a lot of work, but it’s a tiny camper.  And it’s usable as is, so we will be able to use it throughout the summer and as we renovate it slowly.

Here’s some vintage camper makeover inspiration.

Have a safe and fun Memorial Day weekend!

5 Responses to “Vintage Camper”

  1. Charla May 25, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    How did you ever talk her into selling this. Is is so stinkin cute. I can’t wait to see wht it is like when you guys are finished with it. I know you will have so much fun updating it, and then camping in it. The girls will have a ball.

    • Amy Parnell May 25, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

      I am ready to make some camping memories with my little family!

  2. Camper Envy May 25, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    So many possiblities for fixing it up. Your brother might like it more neutral than cute like the inspiration photos. Have fun.

    • Amy Parnell May 25, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

      So true, I got to keep the men happy too!

      • Aunt Mel May 26, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

        Never under estimate Amy! SO cute. Looks like a neat playhouse for the girls. For those of us that are claustrophobic…Looking from the outside in is still cool!

Leave a Reply

