Dollhouse #2

10 Jun

When Mindy from Marigold Road contacted me to build her a dollhouse for her daughter’s 2nd birthday present, I’m not sure if she realized she was helping me out on my 30 before 30 list. One of my items was to “sell something that I’ve made (not computer design related)”. The reason it couldn’t be computer design related was because that’s what I did for a living up until a year ago. I really wanted to build something with my hands and have someone want to pay me for it.
If you remember my Building a Dollhouse post back in January, I talked about trying to find the perfect dollhouse to build for Mindy. After I built that monstrosity of a dollhouse for my girls, I realized that wouldn’t be the best option for Mindy. She’s into mid-century designs, so I thought I would try to find something that would fit her style. I stumbled on the Lundby dollhouses. They are from Sweden and were very popular in the 60’s and 70’s.

I loved the simple design, it seemed like something I could easily build.  I passed the idea by Mindy and she loved it.  So I began the build.

I didn’t have a plan, so I just made it up as I went.  It was very basic, so it kind of seemed like building a bookshelf.

Here’s the back view where the stairs come up to the second floor.  It’s kind of a sunken second floor.

The railing is up so the little people don’t fall down the stairs.  Safety first!

I made a queen size bed to figure out the scale.  There’s also a tiny dresser in the picture.  To finish it off I added a back side.

I left it unfinished so she could have complete decorating control.  I let the girls play with it to figure out any problems that may arise.  They loved playing with it.  It was so cute.  I had so much fun building this.  I kept wanting to add more and more things to it, but held myself back to keep the cost down.  But I might build another one to finish it out and get to decorate it.

And that’s it. Another thing crossed off my list.  I only have few months left, eeeep!

2 Responses to “Dollhouse #2”

  1. charla June 11, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    Good job Amy-I bet you would do a fabulous job decorating it also-You are so creative. Hope the little girl has a lot of fun with this.

  2. Aunt Phyllis June 14, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    You’ll be out of projects before your birthday! 🙂 That is a pretty darn cute doll house.

Leave a Reply

