Wall Jewelry Cabinet

7 Jul

My two girls love to get into things.  They are little messers as we call them. Always messing with stuff.  Their favorite thing to mess with is my jewelry.  Also my makeup, but that’s another issue I’ll deal with another time.  For now, let’s focus on jewelry.  I’ve had to hide my necklaces because they were always getting tangled.  So I put them in a box and hid them from the girls.  But I also hid them from myself, so I would never wear necklaces.  Out of sight out of mind.  So when Ana White posted plans for a wall jewelry cabinet, I knew all my jewelry problems would be solved.

I didn’t add a back to it to keep the price down, but I still could at some point.

The chicken wire door holds the hook type earrings.

It’s very large.

I love how it feels like I’m at a boutique shopping for jewelry every time I open the door.  It’s awesome.  Every gal should own one.  Especially if you have little girls who love to mess with your precious jewelry.

Total cost for this version was around $15.  If I added a bead-board back and skipped the door it would probably be the same too.

I’m actually not going to keep this jewelry cabinet.  This one is for my mother for her birthday.  Happy late birthday Mom!

I’ll be making one for myself soon.

3 Responses to “Wall Jewelry Cabinet”

  1. Mom July 7, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    That is really pretty and I have the perfect place for it.

  2. Aunt Phyllis July 7, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

    Nice job, Amy! Can I get in line, I have a birthday coming too! 🙂

  3. charla July 7, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

    Good job Amy-that is an awesome present for your mom. I think yours is going to have to have a trick lock on it, as your girls are pretty smart.

Leave a Reply

