Playhouse/Fort

8 Jul

Back in March some friends of ours gave us their old playset.  Joey remembers playing with it at their house when he was a kid.  And the people who gave it to us got it from their neighbors.  So this thing has been around.

I sanded it down a little to try to get rid of the moss.  Then I stained it.

And then I closed off the bottom as a playhouse.

One side is a little shop.  Usually it’s a ice cream shop.  Delilah is sitting at the picnic table I made using reclaimed lumber.

I took the rope ladder apart and made it into a low swing.

Joey’s project- a periscope using pvc pipe and mirrors.  Also used as a communication device.

Added a window flower box.  I’ll add flowers when it’s not so blooming hot.  They would just die in this heat.

My friend Aubrey, rescued these shutters from a little girl’s room renovation.  They work perfectly in the house.  They are functioning, so that’s a fun element for play.

I’m not sure if I’m going to paint it or not.  I still need to make a outdoor fabric canopy.  Right now it’s just an outdoor tablecloth.  It won’t last much longer.  I’m going to add some curtains, too.   Then, when it’s all done I need to landscape around it.  I’ll keep you updated.

2 Responses to “Playhouse/Fort”

  1. charla July 8, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

    The playhouse is so cute. I am always so amazed at how creative you get. The pics of the kids are so cute. It was fun to see the kids playing in it at Rory’s BD party.

    • Maryellen July 9, 2012 at 9:17 am #

      Great Job!!! I want to play.

Leave a Reply

