My Little Beach Box

13 Sep

Every time I take the girls to the neighborhood toy store, they always have to play with a tiny sand box for a good 10 minutes.  It’s called My Little Sandbox.

They have all different themes: pirates (shown), castle, dinosaurs, farm and many more.

When we went to the beach we saved some sand and shells.  I wanted to do a project with them but wasn’t sure what.  Then I realized I could make a little beach sand box.  Just like the ones they love playing with at the toy store.  They can just add little toys to it.

I used 1×3’s at 12″ long.  Assembled with my handy kreg jig.  Then added a plywood bottom.   Puttied the jig holes and sanded it all down.  I thought about painting it, but decided au natural would be easier.

Then added the beach sand and shells.

This is going to stay a garage and outside toy.  And when all the sand goes away, we will just have to make another trip to the beach.  It’s only a 10 hour drive!

2 Responses to “My Little Beach Box”

  1. charla September 14, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    This is pretty cool. Do you think they would be scared of a bunch of weird fishies? Now I know what to shop for.

  2. Aunt Judy September 17, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    Give the girls a small strainer to sift out the shells! Love your energy Amy!

Leave a Reply

