Keurig Stand & K-Cup Drawer

15 Oct

We recently got a Keurig coffee maker.  I’m in love.  It has brought my frequent visits to Starbucks to a halt.  I still need my SB fix every once in a while, but this is totally going to save us some cash.  But those k-cups!  Holy cow they are everywhere.  I’ve seen the carousel tower,  but we have a carousel spice rack, and there’s only so many carousels I can stomach in a kitchen.

I’ve seen the stands for the Keurigs and they have a drawer under them to hold the k-cups, but they are metal and cost me money.

So I designed and built the one that I want.

I used only scrap wood I had in my garage.  So this cost me almost nothing, I had to go buy the drawer pull.

I painted it the same color as my buffet.  I debated between red, blue or yellow.  The yellow won.  Obviously…

The drawer is just a box slid under the stand.  I put felt on the bottom to slide nicely.  It holds 20 k-cups.

Pretty simple and fast project, and very useful!

Here’s how I did it.

I used 1/2″ plywood for sides, back, and shelf.  You could use whatever works for you, but always double check your measurements before you cut because yours will be slightly different.  I also used my kreg-jig to attach the pieces (1″ long screws with 3/4″ pocket holes).  Nails would work too, but I found it works to make a pilot hole 1/2 way into your first piece to guide the nail and keep the plywood from splitting.

Let me know if you need clarification on anything.

4 Responses to “Keurig Stand & K-Cup Drawer”

  1. Aub October 15, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    Awesome…as usual! 🙂

  2. charla October 15, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    Amy-you always come up with the most interesting ideas. Congratulations on the Keirig(sp?). We love ours. The K-cups must be fascinating to Delilah. Good job as usual.

  3. Nikki Ehlers October 17, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

    Plans, please!

    • Amy Parnell October 19, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

      Plans are up on same post. Let me know if you have any questions.

Leave a Reply

