Parsons Coffee Table

19 Nov

We got this coffee table for our wedding over 6 years ago.

It’s served us well over the years.  But it hasn’t really fit in with our changing decor.  And one of the legs has been iffy and I worry someone will set on it someday and break it.  Also the top of it shows lots of wear over the years from the kids playing on it.

So as I have mentioned before, I’ve been getting lots of wood from pallets recently.  Here’s some of my latest haul.

I decided it was time for a new coffee table.  Something bigger and sturdier and fit our decor.

I saw this parsons coffee table from West Elm and loved it so very much.

And the whole room in general.  Drool.

Parsons, is a style of furniture that means that everything is the same width.

Here it is all built ready to be painted.

And painted.

Total cost= $5.  I had to buy some more screws.

 

3 Responses to “Parsons Coffee Table”

  1. charla November 19, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

    awesome job Amy-it is very pretty and classy. As usual I stand in awe of your abilities.

  2. Steph November 21, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    How long did it take you to sand the wood down? The finish looks awesome!!

    • Amy Parnell November 21, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

      The pallets that I have been getting have pretty much brand new wood on them. So I’m not dealing with gnarly and weather pallet wood. So that helps. I have an orbital sander, so I only had to sand it down as if I had used wood from a lumber yard. I think I might need to add a top coat of glossy. But I do enjoy the matte look too. Doesn’t show fingerprints!

Leave a Reply

