Resolutions & a Feather Necklace

9 Jan

With the new year, I didn’t make a resolution.  I actually forgot that people did that until Joey asked me if I had one.  I guess I just knew I would fail at keeping whatever it is that I came up with.  But now with the holidays over I do have a sense of freedom of time to do stuff I’ve always wanted.  Maybe that’s why people make resolutions, not just because of the new year- new you thing, but because we have nothing new going on.  There’s time for improvement that we had little of in the two months prior.  Well anyway, my point is, even though I didn’t make a resolution for the new year, I do have some things I want to focus on for the year 2013.

1. Do more crafting.  I got away from this in the year 2012.  Hardly crafting at all.  I enjoy the small creative outlet of crafting.  Not everything has to be large to get the feel-good accomplishment of making something.

2. Produce inventory of items to sell.  I think I could sell some things if I actually had things to sell.  I don’t know how (i.e. online, craft shows, out of my trunk), but I need to have an inventory first before I do anything.

3. Get Delilah more involved with activities.  She does some, but she needs to start doing way more.  I’m thinking regular story times at the library, gymnastics, ballet, soccer, and t-ball.  Just like Rory was exposed to at her age.

4. Crafting with Rory.  The kid loves to craft I need to let her more.  Maybe I will share more crafting with kids posts.  Like “Crafts that Don’t Suck”  kids version.

5.  More dates with the husband.  Maybe this is the year to find a babysitter?

6. Yard makeover!  It is time for this one.

That’s enough of that for now.  I know seeing other people lists is either boring or makes you anxious you aren’t doing enough.  Sometimes just doing the day to day things is plenty.  As the kids are getting older, I feel myself having more free time.  And life is getting easier.  So either I need to start working out more, being more financially productive, or having another kid.  So who knows what I’ll end up doing in the year 2013.

So now that I need to start crafting more.  I turn to my boards on Pinterest.

First up: this awesome painted fabric feather necklace.

feather7Source: Alisa Burke with how-to.

I did mine a little different.  I just cut out feather shapes from canvas fabric.

feather5

Painted them white, then painted them feathery looking.  I put a top coat of gold paint.
feather1 feather2 feather3
feather4 feather6

This was an easy and fast craft.  Rory was very interested in it and wanted to make her own, so we might have a kid’s version on here soon.

What about you guys, do you have any resolutions?  Or things you want to do this year?

sig

8 Responses to “Resolutions & a Feather Necklace”

  1. Skipping along. January 9, 2013 at 11:29 am #

    I saw the teasing grandparents about new grandbaby.

    • Amy Parnell January 9, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

      hee hee

    • Ellie January 9, 2013 at 10:20 pm #

      If I could “like” this, I would. Its going to be “Babybump Watch 2013”.

      • Amy Parnell January 10, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

        Oh man! That’s all I need, more speculation…

  2. crochetlola January 9, 2013 at 11:59 am #

    That’s really beautiful. I love that it looks quite rustic.

  3. kristydefehr January 9, 2013 at 2:17 pm #

    I’ve nominated you for the Tell me About Yourself Award! No pressure to participate or anything but it’s just a little something that helps yourself and other bloggers to get noticed! For more info about awards check out http://kristydefehr.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/tell-me-about-yourself-award/

  4. charla January 9, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

    Awesome Amy-this is really pretty. By the way, you already have willing babysitters-US!!!We love to watch the girls any time.

  5. Cristina-creativeMAG (@CristaGabriela) June 3, 2014 at 9:35 am #

    I love this! I’m gonna try painting on fabric, too! Looks so gorgeous and so unique!

Leave a Reply

