Fancy Side Table

14 Jan

This is another project straight from my pinterest boards.   I’ve been wanting to make this table for over a year.

yellt6

Source: Frosted Bakeshop

There were no plans to work from, and I used only the wood that I already had.  So mine was a smaller scale table.  But that was good since I can now learn from my mistakes if I ever want to make a bigger table like this.

So I started out by drawing one leg in the shape that looked good on a 1×6.  Then cut it out.  Then made 2 more exactly like it.

yellt

For the forth leg, I had to make it 1/2 wider.  So I had to use some wide store bought wood that I had.  Then attached the wider leg to another like this using pocket holes.

yell3

Then pocket holed the other 2 legs.

yellt2

Next I made a round table top.yellt3

Then screwed it all together and puttied all the pocket holes.

yellt4

As soon as I put it together I said “Ah man, that looks bad.”  The legs are really fat and lumpy looking.  But to make them smaller and thinner the wood would have broke.  So a larger table would look nicer with this width of legs.  But I would have to actually buy wider wood. And this was using free pallet wood.

I painted it yellow and gave it to Delilah for a side table for her toddler bed.

yellt5

sig

2 Responses to “Fancy Side Table”

  1. Laura January 14, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    It looks great Amy! You are amazing. I love it that you have all of those power tools. You are a girl after my own heart!

  2. charla January 15, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

    Good job Amy-I bet Delilah loves her new table. I admire your talent so much-and your imagination!

Leave a Reply

