Book Crate

18 Jan

Yesterday I was so bored.  It was a weird feeling being bored.  The girls both had school and normally I would have tons of things to do.  But I didn’t have anything to shop for, the house was fairly clean and I had no projects to do.  So I cleaned the garage.  Then I went and picked up more pallet wood at my brother’s.  But I still didn’t have a project in mind.  Well I do need to build a doghouse, but I didn’t get enough wood for that.  Then Ana White posted this project on her facebook page.

bookbox5

Chalkboard Produce Crate

Perfect!  I went right out to the garage and whipped it up.  Using the wood I had and tools I have.  I don’t have a big enough drill bit to make the handles cut out.  I would love to do rope handles, but I used what I had.

bookbox2Most of it was built with pallet wood, but I also used some 1x2s and 1/4″ mdf for the bottom and chalkboards (there’s another one on the back).

bookbox3

Don’t let the books fool you.  Those are the bigger kids books we have.  This crate is actually pretty good sized.

bookbox1

And since it’s chalkboard, I can make it say whatever!

bookbox4

I used coffee to stain it.  I plan on sharing more on that next week.

sig

4 Responses to “Book Crate”

  1. Abu January 19, 2013 at 7:38 am #

    Now I want to make one! Cute! I’ve got just the rope you need, if you want some for the handles 🙂

    • Aub January 19, 2013 at 7:40 am #

      Abu? It’s Aub, you darn auto correct.

      • Amy Parnell January 19, 2013 at 9:47 am #

        That would be awesome, Abu thank you. 🙂

  2. charla January 20, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    Cute project. Joey’s cousin Megan has a friend Abu-he may be creative as well.

Leave a Reply

