Dining Table

9 May

I wasn’t going to blog about this project until it was all finished.  Like in my house and decorated finished.  But that won’t be for another month, and I just HAD to show everyone my new table.  Cause I’m so danged excited about it!

I started on Monday.  I  just wanted to take it slow and work on one part at a time and make it look good.  So over the course of this week I’ve worked on this table a few hours at a time here and there.  Delilah and I have went to Home Depot everyday.  Buying small amounts of lumber, screws then stain.

table7Delilah practicing her gymnastics routine on the wood cart. 

The legs were a little complicated, but fun to put together.  And nothing too time consuming.

Whenever I start hammering on something the girls always want to take over.

table4

table5

The main post in the middle of the legs was a 4×4 I salvaged from a pallet.

Then came the table top using 2×6’s kreg jigged and wood glued together.  It’s super heavy.

table3

table2

Then I stained it.

table6Phone pic!

My lovely sister suggested I try grey washing it.  I hadn’t heard much about it, or haven’t been paying attention to this new finishing technique.  So I did a little research and thought it looked cool.  So I gave it a whirl.

table10

You may notice I also added the diagonal braces.  I had planned to leave them off thinking it would look to busy and jumbled.  But it looks pretty awesome actually.

table1

table9

Plans from Ana-White: Fancy X Farmhouse Table

I altered the plans to get a custom size perfect for our dining room.

This plan is based on the Restoration Hardware table Salvaged Wood X-Based Table, retailed at $3,295.

Price breakdown for my table: $50 wood, nails and jig screws, $10 stain and lacquer.  So I think I saved a pretty penny, eh?  Also the RH table is humongous and would never fit in my house anyway.

After I make some benches and we buy a couple chairs for the ends and then get it in our dining room, I’ll share with you how it all looks.

sig

2 Responses to “Dining Table”

  1. charla May 9, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

    can’t wait to see it. good job as usual.thanks for sharing

  2. Aub May 9, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

    I love it!! We better have a card night soon and test it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

