Vintage Camper Interior Reveal/Progress

17 Jun

Last year my brother Alan and I bought a camper together.  We bought it from my friend Aubrey.  I’ve blogged about it a few times before.

1: Vintage Camper, 2: Vintage Camper Renovation, 3: Camper Exterior Reveal

It’s been restored, but we aren’t really finished completely.  But I want to share with you what we have done so far.

Let’s start on the exterior.

How it looked to start.

camperb1camperb6

And how it looks now.

camper9

We forgot to paint the hubcaps and add them back on.  That’s one of the last things to finish the exterior.camper10 camper11

And now for the interior.  The kitchen before.

camperb5

And after

camper1 We left the top cabinet it’s original finish to preserve what it used to look like since there was no damage to this area.  However, it might look good painted white as well.  I still want to make curtains for the kitchen.

The sitting/bed area.  We had already removed the wood tops to the bed.

camperb2

After removing the carpet from the walls and painting.  And making some new cushions and curtains.

camper2We also added new flooring.  A laminate with faux wood grain.

camper5camper4camper3

I made the artwork hanging up.  They are knock-offs of real artwork by other people.  The frames are hung with sticky velcro strips.camper6

camperrev

We hope to get some more camping trips in this summer with our little camper.  Thanks for looking!

sig

8 Responses to “Vintage Camper Interior Reveal/Progress”

  1. charla June 17, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

    what an excellent job. I like the wood as it was, or white either one. But I am so glad you got the carpet off the walls. It all looks so cute. I love your art work as well. As usual, an excellent job. I know you all will have great times in this camper.

    • Amy Parnell June 17, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

      I loved the wood too. But we were dealing with some serious water damage in some areas that we had to sand and putty. And there was no way to match the wood. So we went with painting it. Which turned out nice to make the tiny camper seem bigger.

  2. Aunt Mel June 17, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

    You never cease to amaze me with your creativity. I think it’s so nice looking. I like the before and after pictures! What do the girls think?

    • Amy Parnell June 17, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

      Thanks! The girls love it and can’t wait till we can go camping again.

  3. Aub June 18, 2013 at 11:33 am #

    I love it! Great job my friend! 🙂

  4. PocketfulofSugarKaitie June 18, 2013 at 8:18 pm #

    I love, love, LOVE this! I just recently purchased one as well (I have a post about it tomorrow :)) and I’m also painting the interior white. I have similar wood panelling in mine, but I’m concerned the paint won’t really ‘stick’. Did you sand yours down? And what kind of paint did you use? It looks lovely!

    • Amy Parnell June 18, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

      Thanks for looking! We did have to sand it down, mostly to get the old lacquer that was flaking off. And we had to use bondo in a lot of areas to repair rot, and that needed sanded. I can’t remember the paint for the inside. I’m guessing it was just glossy indoor paint. I can’t wait to see your’s!

  5. Anne November 20, 2015 at 9:54 am #

    We also have a scout camper. Would love to speak w you about your experience.

Leave a Reply

