New Table Part 2

18 Jun

Last month I showed you my new table I built.  You can see that post here.

We bought our old table when we moved into our house almost 7 years ago.  There were a lot of memories made around that table.

stool7

It’s funny both Joey and I always hated on this table.  But it was actually a decent table.  The chairs were comfortable, but they legs were shoddily put on.  So they would loosen and sometimes fall off.  I was always embarrassed when guests would be over and I worried about a leg falling off and them falling on the floor.

But the table itself was really good quality, but would chip and show dings.  And the table and chairs were more modern looking and my style was turning more french county and the table just didn’t “go” anymore.  Plus our dining room is small.  And this table was too wide, the chairs would fall off into the carpet when you backed up.  So enough about why we needed a new table.

My inspiration was this photo.

zm_16500201k72_2

So I built this one.

ntable5

I also built a bench to go with it.  I plan on building another one, but for now I’m going to use the mismatched chairs on one side.  This way there’s more chairs for people who prefer them.

ntable3

At first I didn’t add the end piece, but that left little room for your legs.  So I just added it yesterday and it made a world of a difference.

ntable2ntable1
The end chairs we bought at a garage sale for $5 each and I painted them white and added some cushions from target.  I wanted chairs with arms but that was getting difficult to find and most of them I liked were $300+.  So these will work for now until I find something better.

ntable4

Table plans modified from Ana-White: Fancy X Farmhouse Table

Bench plans also from Ana-White: Providence Bench

sig

2 Responses to “New Table Part 2”

  1. charla June 18, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

    wow-the table looks awesome, and I think the chairs are very cute. I am always amazed at your creativity. I would love to have some of that. Good job as usual Amy. Can’t wait to sit down and break bread at that table.

  2. Aunt Judy June 18, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

    Amy, I always enjoy seeing what you’ve been up to! I admire your taking your ideas and actually completing the projects! I used to have that kind of energy, now I just mostly enjoy see yours! I’ll call for RSVP when I get to Wichita!

Leave a Reply

