Gender Reveal Party

9 Oct

Last weekend we had a small family gathering to announce the gender of our next child.  Gender reveal parties seem to be growing in popularity.  We did a little gender reveal thing when I was pregnant with Delilah but I don’t remember it being a “thing” yet.  I’m not saying I invented it, but it makes you wonder.  Totally kidding, I’m not that full of myself.  Just a little bit.

I had a big grand idea of a reveal.  It involved a rocket.  And it was going to be epic.  I was so excited, but of course it ended up storming the evening of the reveal party.  I could have changed the date, but my parent’s were here for the weekend for the pumpkin delivery and they weren’t going to be back any time soon.  Especially since it was almost a year and a half since my dad was able to visit last.  So anyway it was now or never to reveal the gender in a way that didn’t involve a phone call/text/skype.

So we had a family dinner, and root beer floats for desert.  Everyone picked their guess using blue/pink straws.  There was no real reason for this, other than I really just wanted root beer floats, and it seemed fun to guess and get the conversation steered in that direction.

group

group2

bac

me

Then I handed out blue/pink balloons for their corresponding guess.  Only the balloons with the wrong gender had holes in them so they wouldn’t blow up.

Then everyone blew them up at the same time.  Revealing the gender.

rev2

rev1

Joey and I already knew so we didn’t participate as to give it away.

rev3

We are having a third girl.  I am 99% sure this is our last.  Joey 100%.  We are a little sad we will never know what it’s like to raise a son, but we love our girls.  So we are excited to add another little girl to our family.  And it appears she is healthy and this pregnancy is going smoothly, so that’s the most important.   But I’m over the princess thing, so maybe she will be into something different.  Delilah is into dinosaurs so that’s been a nice change of pace.  And Aurora who was the most into princesses has seemed to move on for the most part.

I’m excited to meet her in February, but probably March.  I’m due on the 20th, but I love to overcook my children.  That sounds really bizarre.  Sorry.

sig

3 Responses to “Gender Reveal Party”

  1. Phyllis October 9, 2013 at 9:06 am #

    Congratulations!! Little girls are great fun. Glad that this pregnancy is going well, and thanks for the pictures, it was a fun party!

  2. Aubrey October 9, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

    I’m sorry your rocket idea didn’t take off. Haha…get it…take off! But, I am so excited to meet her!!! Congratulations 🙂

  3. charla October 11, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

    The reveal party was a lot of fun, and it was great to see your parents again. We are delighted that we are going to have another granddaughter. Girls Rule!!! Love you all so much, Grammy and Poppy

Leave a Reply

