Teeter Totter

24 Apr

Last November I started building a teeter totter for the girls.

tt7

I enlisted the help of my brother, Alan.  I was prego at the time and didn’t trust my brain with math.  I shouldn’t trust my brain with math when non-prego either.  But he is a mechanical engineer so I knew he could make sure it didn’t turn out all wonky.

We got to the part where we need to put the bolt in the fulcrum, and I realized I had the wrong size paddle bit.  So we jimmy rigged up something for the meantime and called it quits.

And just last week I got the right sized bits for the fulcrum and the handle bars, and finished ‘er up.

ttt1

And then stained it to protect it from the elements.

tt4

tt3

Did you know it’s really hard to find a teeter totter on a playground anymore?tt2tt5tt6

I bought 2 2×4’s and the rest of the wood was reclaimed.

Thanks for looking!

Teeter totter plans from Ana-White.com

sig

3 Responses to “Teeter Totter”

  1. javiringo1 April 24, 2014 at 2:19 pm #

    i really appreciate all your hard work that you for your child’s and the time you took to this this but the more important the love you have for your child’s thanks.

  2. Phyllis April 24, 2014 at 3:46 pm #

    Another fun project for the girls; and they are SO CUTE!

  3. grammy April 25, 2014 at 11:55 am #

    You are so clever and I know the girls have to love it. I had not noticed the dearth of teeter totters until you mentioned it. They are so fun. your girls are soooo precious.

Leave a Reply

