Nail and String Art – Kids Project

8 Jul

Last week the girls did an art project.  We had our neighbor/friend, Elizabeth, join us.

string1

I cut some scrap pieces of wood for the girls and sanded it.  They should have hand sanded this part, but we were pressed for time so I used the orbital and got it done.

They picked out their colors and painted them.

string4

Next the girls chose their design and I traced it onto paper.  Then they nailed onto the lines.

 

string9

string5

string12

These are the nails we used. They were perfect for little hands to hammer.  My camera focus was off, but you get the idea.
Next rip off the paper.

string6

We forgot this step the first try and went straight to stringing.  So Elizabeth had to unstring, rip, then restring.  But this is the only shot I got of her mustache, so I shared it anyway.

string10

Rory (6) nailed every single one of her nails.  I was very proud of her because she took on a more detailed design.

string7

I strung both my girls (4 & 6’s) for them, it was too hard for them to get the string tight without it unraveling, but Elizabeth (11) had no problem doing it all by herself.

string8

string11

Elizabeth had to leave for home before she finished hers.  But if I get a picture I will post it.  I’m sure it turned out awesome.

string14

string13

string3

This was such a fun project.  Even though some steps were too difficult for the littler ones, they still enjoyed the whole process.

sig

4 Responses to “Nail and String Art – Kids Project”

  1. The Train Driver's Wife July 8, 2014 at 2:27 pm #

    What a brilliant idea!

  2. Phyllis July 8, 2014 at 3:03 pm #

    Another project well done! Looks like you are having a good summer.

  3. Aunt Laura July 8, 2014 at 4:33 pm #

    Before you know it they will be building houses with those hammers! Great project Amy

  4. grammy July 8, 2014 at 8:13 pm #

    very cool idea. love it.

Leave a Reply

